Me, a pioner? Ha ha ha

C. Do you see yourself as a pioneer? Do you think you are more innovative than others in your organisation? Do you think your organisation is lagging behind? Tell us how you feel about this?

I do not consider myself as a pioneer or early adopter, nor I look like one. I’m not a gadgeted person and I always forget my very old fashioned mobile phone at home.
Yet, I love the internet and I could not live without it. I surf it for information, I use it to keep in touch with my country, I steal digital resources for my analog classes, and I dream to be able to implement all I’ve learned in my work.

I teach Italian, mostly in two public institution that are quite the opposite the one to the other in budget terms.

In one of them, with a colleague with whom I share the interest for new technologies, two years ago we presented a proposal for some blended classes. Nothing more was heard of it. We guess that it is now lying in some office in Rome, and we started to offer our students some additional, free activities. In her case through a blog and in my case with Moodle.

Our hope is that the same students will, in the end, see the benefits of it and ask the direction to implement the use of new technologies to standard courses and/or to offer some blended courses.

In the other institution I work in classrooms are fully equipped with internet, projector and everything a teacher could dream of. And all the firewalls and filters technical department can dream of, too. I tried to explain my reason to the technician, but then, I admit, I gave up.

Here as well I’m trying to use a guerrilla strategy. Last year my students worked on googledocs to write their final group work in an attempt to make them truly collaborate and to show them this very useful tool. This year they will use their cell phones the record some interview to the Italian students attending their university courses.

Little things that I hope will be useful and interesting for them, and that will not disturb the head of the department I’m working with, that is not really technology friendly.

1 Comment

Filed under Muvenation

One response to “Me, a pioner? Ha ha ha

  1. technology! technology! technology! tech – ****ing – nology!

    just to know it might be great… never mind using it to “teach”!

    aaron

Leave a Reply

